You can reset a world on one of my premade Minecraft servers to allow your players get more resources easily without travelling too far. When you reset a world, everything is deleted, so do not delete the world(s) where the players have their buildings. If you need help and you don’t know what to do, do not hesitate to come to my Discord.
How to reset a world
Before resetting a world, ask your players to leave this world. You can simply announce the reset a bit before doing it, so everyone will be safe. Why ? If you reset the Nether for example, and someone logged out while mining in it, the blocks will be restore and the player will die from suffocation as he will be stuck in a wall when he will connect again.
Now, download the fresh server from my blog and unzipped it somewhere. You need to download the same version of the server. Once you have downloaded and unzipped the server in his fresh state, stop your server and make a backup, it is better to be cautious if something goes wrong. In the main folder, you can see a list of folders and files, some of the folders are your worlds. In this case, this is a 3 worlds server with “world”, “world_nether” and “world_the_end” :
We have 2 situations here : You want to reset the “world” folder with players data or you want to reset the Nether or The End.
First case : You want to reset a world that does not contain players data
Let’s say that you want to reset the Nether :
- Delete the folder “world_nether” in your server
- Locate the “world_nether” folder from the fresh server and move it to your server folder
You are done ! The Nether is now reset and players will have a fresh Nether world with the portals working fine. If you want to reset The End, just do the same. Before starting your server, you may want to reset the CoreProtect database, i explain this below.
Second case : You want to reset a world with players data
In this case, in the “world” folder, the players data are stored in 3 folders. You don’t want to reset the inventories or advancements of your players, so you do not want to delete those. In some case, the players data are stored in another world, but let’s make things simple here :
You need to delete everything except :
Once you are done, you need to move the fresh “world” folder into your “world” server folder. Before starting your server, you may want to reset the CoreProtect database, i explain this below.
Reset your CoreProtect database
CoreProtect is the plugin that log everything on your server to handle stealing or griefing. You can disable some worlds, but by default everything is logged for all worlds. As you reset some worlds, the data stored in the database of CoreProtect will need to be removed. So, after starting your server, you just have to type one command for each world :
/co purge t:30d r:world_nether
With that command, you remove all data from the world “world_nether” stored since 30 days. Do it for each of the worlds you made a fresh version and change the number of days to match your last reset of the world. If you can’t remember, you can easily put an higher number such as t:100d for example.